Who Is Who?

Here you will find information about the most important figures behind the congress as well as those who will be taking part in the EAU Press Conference.

Per-Anders Abrahamsson - EAU Secretary General & Chair of Plenary Session 4

Professor of Urology at Lund University (SE) from 2000. Since 1993, Adjunct Professor, Department of Urology at the University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, New York (US). Secretary General of the European Association of Urology since 2006. Has written 275 scientific articles including 115 original scientific articles, 42 book chapters, 4 books and 135 other publications.

Walter Artibani - EAU Adjunct Secretary General & Executive Member Science & Chair of Plenary Session 3

Since December 2009 Professor and Chair of Urology at the University of Verona (IT), before in Padova and Modena. From 2002 to 2004 he was President of the European Board of Urology. Since 2007 he is Adjunct General Secretary of EAU, re-elected for a second term. Published more than 200 articles in international urological journals.

Christopher Chapple – Chairman EAU International Relations Office & EAU Secretary General Elect

Professor and Consultant Urological Surgeon at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals and Visiting Professor at Sheffield Hallam University. Chairman of the EAU’s International Relations Committee and former EAU Adjunct Secretary General responsible for Education and Director of the European School of Urology. He is the editor-in-chief of the journal Neurourology and Urodynamics.

Manfred Wirth - EAU Treasurer & Executive Member Communication & Chair of Plenary Session 2

Professor of Urology, Head of department at the University Clinic of the Technical University of Dresden (DE). Member of the EAU Executive Board as of 2004. President of the German Society of Urology since 2008. Has published 185 scientific articles, 46 book contributions and seven books.

Arnulf Stenzl - Chair, EAU Scientific Congress Committee & Chair of Plenary Session 4

Professor and Head of the Department of Urology, Eberhard-Karls-University, Tübingen, Germany. Professor since 1992, with over 300 publications. In addition to his work for the EAU Scientific Congress Office, Stenzl is on the editorial board of seven scientific journals.

Jens Sønksen – Chair of Plenary Session 1

Professor of Urology at University of Copenhagen and Head of Urological Research Center and Section of Andrology, Herlev Hospital, Denmark. Former Secretary General (2010-2013) of the European Society for Sexual Medicine (ESSM) and Vice President of the Danish Association of Urology. Sønksen has published more than 100 scientific papers and is co-editor of the Scandinavian Journal of Urology

Maurizio Brausi – EAU Bladder Cancer Prevention Programme

Professor of uro-oncology at the University of Torino and Piemonte Orientale (Novara). Chairman-elect of EAU Section of Oncological Urology (ESOU). Chairman of the Bladder Cancer Group of the Italian Society of Urology (SIU). Brausi published more than 300 articles in peer-reviewed journals and contributed in writing seven books on uro-oncology.

Fiona Burkhard – Chair of Plenary Session 3

Professor and member of the University Hospital, Department of Urology, Bern, Switzerland. Burkhard has focused on female urology, urinary diversions/orthotopic bladder substitution and urodynamics. Burkhard is a faculty member of the European School of Urology, the EAU Scientific Congress Office, and serves in the EAU Working Group on Urinary Incontinence.

Nicolas Mottet - Speaker in Plenary Session 4 on EAU Guidelines